Newlyweds Suffer Amnesia, Forget Everyone They Knew Before Wedding

PROVO, Utah – Tragedy struck this February when local newlyweds Daniel Streets and Melissa Meservy were diagnosed with an all too common form of retrograde amnesia, causing them forget all former friends and loved ones.

While the exact cause is still unknown, doctors suspect the amnesia began just after the couple left their wedding reception at their local church building – the last place the couple had been seen socializing with anyone that they once held dear.

“[Melissa] asked me to plan her bachelorette party,” Rebecca Potter, Merservy’s maid of honor, tearfully divulged in an interview last Wednesday. “I was so excited! We’ve been best friends for so long and I just loved being a part of her special day. I sent her a text after the wedding. When she responded, all she said was ‘new phone, who dis?’”

Byron Streets, the brother of the groom, also witnessed strange behavior. “We had plans to go camping a month after the wedding, just a bit after they got back from their honeymoon,” he said, hardly looking up from the floor. “When I texted him to ask if [the hike] was still on, Daniel never responded. Eventually I just went to their new apartment—on a night I knew they were home—and Daniel didn’t even open the door all the way. He just goes, ‘yeah, yeah, yeah, sorry I’m busy,” and closes the door in my face. I’m not sure he even looked at me.”

Disguised as a coupon to a couples spa resort, the couple’s families duped them into regular treatments at a local psychiatric hospital, according to an anonymous source. The families have reported some progress, but hospital staff say it could be years before Streets and Meservy are as involved in the lives of their loved ones as they once were.

“Amnesia is an extremely complicated mental illness,” said Dr. Williams of Too-Newlywed Counseling and Psychological Services, “but it’s the only explanation. What else could cause such friendly, loving young people to completely forget their families? Their friends? They’re not themselves right now – but it’s nothing a few dozen intense treatments of electroshock therapy can’t fix.”

Leave a comment